Foodie Pursuits in Paris

Remembrance of Things Paris

This is my new favourite book! I was recently looking for something to read in between meetings, and while on the métro, deciding in the end that an anthology of short stories was the way to go. While at WH Smith looking at cookbooks, I happen to glance upon “Remembrance of Things Paris: 60 Years of Writing from Gourmet”. I was charmed immediately! I love Gourmet magazine, and what better than to read a collection of their best reviews from Paris! What I wasn’t expecting was for the portraits to be so gloriously vivid, and still entirely relevant to today’s diner. I have since discovered where the word “bistrot” comes from (something I quizzed a French friend about recently, who actually had no idea!), seen the birth of many of my favourite restaurants, and drooled over some of most fantastic recipes (like Oeufs Reine Amélie… mmm) that are unlikely to be recreated in our lifetime, if ever!

www.amazon.fr

One thought on “Foodie Pursuits in Paris

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

